Yellow to the {Rescue}

{Jacket – Zara, T-Shirt – Club Monaco, Jeans – JBrand, Belt – old, Shoes – Chanel (old – snagged these lucky heels at a 40% off Winter Sale at Chanel on Rodeo Drive!!), Bag – no label, bought at a tiny leather boutique when I traveled through Argentina a few years ago, Bracelet – J.Crew (old), Ring – Forever 21 (old), Sunglasses – Oliver Peoples.}

Sometimes, making a big effort with your outfit just isn’t in the cards. On those days, I tend to just throw on a well-loved pair of jeans, my favorite white tee (this Club Monaco favorite is amazing…I own several), some ballet flats, and I’m out the door. But what to do when such a plain and basic ensemble needs a little “tweaking” for – say – a brunch date, or a stroll downtown? Enter the MOST amazing tweed jacket for Spring!! I usually don’t gravitate toward yellow, but this structured tweed blazer caught my eye right away. It’s comfortable but structured, fits like a glove, and elevates a super basic outfit in just the right way. I threw on some quirky heels for good measure and – voila! I’m actually presentable.

xo

12 responses

  1. Awesome! Thanks for posting an outfit even I could/would wear 🙂
    You are adorable everyday, just not always translatable to middle age and/or Cali casual lifestyle. Yellow makes me happy.

      • I’m a lurker but the sucejbt of green fascinates me so I’ll raise my head above the parapet.I would hazard a guess that the problem with green is that the natural green seen in leaves and grass etc. can’t be reproduced exactly in paint, textiles and lighting and as such, we’re repelled by the unnaturalness of it. I’ve got a huge oak tree staring at me outside my window right now and the leaves aren’t green, they’re a mix of almost white veins on the leaves, dark veridian shadows leaning to brown, yellow highlights and even a bit of orange here and there on dead leaves and twigs. The same with grass, there are little accents of white where the grass has dried and brown where you can see the earth.Reproduced greens can’t capture all the different shades simultaneously (there are exceptions in paintings however before I go over generalising) and fall flat. The green leather seen on clerk desks and in our house of commons is a prime example (to me) of a repulsive green. It’s just too…..green. The connotations with the items and surroundings may also play a part but there’s my thoughts.

  2. I simply required to jot down a simple word so as to say thanks to you for the people great points and suggestions that you are demonstrating on this internet site.

Leave a comment